FG 170510 EUROFER 28European Steel Day 2018

Steel, sustainability and low-carbon innovation 

Draft programme

Moderation by Jacki Davis

14:00 – Press conference 

Journalists only

  • Geert Van Poelvoorde, President of EUROFER
  • Axel Eggert, Director General of EUROFER

14:15 – Opening of European Steel Day 2018 to the public

  • Welcome coffee

14:45 – Call to order

  • Jacki Davis, Moderator

14:50  - Welcome address

  • Geert Van Poelvoorde, President, EUROFER

15:00 – Video

Steel, sustainability and low-carbon innovation

15:05 – Steel leaders’ debate

Low-carbon innovation: the European steel industry’s leadership

  • Herbert Eibensteiner, Head, Steel Division, voestalpine Group (confirmed)
  • Heinz Jörg Fuhrmann, CEO, Salzgitter AG (confirmed)
  • Andreas Goss, CEO, ThyssenKrupp Steel Europe AG (confirmed)
  • Martin Pei, CTO, HYBRIT project, SSAB (confirmed)

15:55 – Fireside interviews

Sustainability and the steel industry

  • Roger Steens, Director, Sustainability, Tata Steel Europe (confirmed)
  • Anna-Maria Kaczmarek, Manager, Chemicals, Water and Sustainability, EUROFER  (confirmed)

16:10 – Presidents’ debate

Working together: Advancing competitive, innovative, social and sustainable European industry

  • Jyrki Katainen, European Commission Vice-President for Jobs, Growth, Investment and Competitiveness (confirmed)
  • Jerzy Buzek MEP, EPP Group; Chairman of the European Parliament Committee on Industry, Research and Energy (confirmed)
  • Luis Colunga, Deputy Secretary General, IndustriAll European Trade Union (confirmed)
  • Geert Van Poelvoorde, President of EUROFER (confirmed)

17:00 – Round-up and closing by moderator

End of conference

17:00 – European Steel Day 2018 reception and walking dinner


22:00 – End of European Steel Day 2018